What are your favorite fantasy novels?

I am just re-reading (and listening) to A Memory of Light, the final book in Robert Jordan’s Wheel of Time series. My favorite books are those that I can read, and delight in, again and again. So what are my favorite classic fantasy stories? Here is my current list:

  1. Lord of the Rings by J.R.R. Tolkien
  2. The Chronicles of Narnia by C. S. Lewis
  3. The Wheel of Time by Robert Jordan (and Brandon Sanderson)
  4. Harry Potter by J. K. Rowling
  5. The Song of Albion by Stephen R. Lawhead
  6. The Curdie Books by George MacDonald
  7. Codex Alera by Jim Butcher
  8. Lilith by George MacDonald
  9. Pellucidar series by Edgar Rice Burroughs
  10. Mistborn by Brandon Sanderson

In the interesting website, Books of Brilliance, there is a list of the 20 best fantasy novels of all time. Why not check it out? I enjoy looking at other lists since they give me new books to try out.

If you’re interested in considering reading my novels, here is what one of my readers had to say about Coventry 2091 …

“I feel a little bit like a kid who wandered into a closet and found a wonderland. Here I was, a prisoner, along with the main character, and then suddenly I’m on a beautiful adventure full of danger and excitement and joy. I loved this book. I loved it for the surprises along the way and the victory brought out of intense loss. I love the way the story unfolds and I love the way the characters help each other and overcome.”

My books are available on Amazon and Smashwords (e-books only). If you’d rather read them for free, most are available on Hoopla at your favorite library.

About Peter Kazmaier

Lover of Fantasy and Science Fiction. Author of the SF series THE HALCYON CYCLE. I frequently re-read my favourite books. http://tinyurl.com/p46woa4

Posted on March 19, 2024, in Fantasy, Review, Speculative Fiction and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.